Crafting Climate Futures: From Story to Policy

The above video link takes you to https://youtu.be/7-fEJM566eM

The UN Climate Change Conference (COP26) in Glasgow presents an opportunity for decisive global action amidst escalating climate chaos. Now, more than ever, we need narratives of positive climate futures alongside coordinated interventions in order to ameliorate the crisis. Join the University of Liverpool’s Olaf Stapledon Centre for Speculative Futures and the Climate Imagination Fellows at Arizona State University’s Center for Science and the Imagination for a session dedicated to exploring the stories that might catalyze new understandings and connect narrative interventions to transformations in policy, governance, and culture.

During the event, our panelists will respond to questions and provocations posed by an international group of policy thinkers, researchers, and fiction authors.

This virtual event is free and open to everyone. Learn more and register today!

A note on timing: The event is scheduled for 1:30-2:30 pm UK time, which is 8:30-9:30 am Eastern, and 6:30-7:30 am Arizona time.

Speakers

Xia Jia
Climate Imagination Fellow, scholar of Chinese literature, author of A Summer Beyond Your Reach

Hannah Onoguwe
Climate Imagination Fellow, poet, author of Cupid’s Catapult

Kim Stanley Robinson
Author of The Ministry for the FutureNew York 2140, and Green Earth

Vandana Singh
Climate Imagination Fellow, climate researcher, author of Ambiguity Machines and Other Stories

Moderator

Adeline Johns-Putra
Professor of Literature, Xi’an Jiaotong-Liverpool University, author of Climate Change and the Contemporary Novel

Date
November 8, 2021
Run time
1:20:25
Location:
Online
Presented by:
Center for Science and the Imagination